2022 Beginning Teachers Conference has ended

Teachers new to the profession are invited to attend the 2022 Beginning Teachers’ Conference, September 23–24, Fantasyland Hotel, Edmonton. There is no registration fee. Space is limited; apply early.

School principals, school jurisdictions and local associations work together to provide substitute teacher coverage as per the collective agreement to facilitate the attendance of beginning teachers at the conference. Substitute teacher coverage must be organized and approved in advance. Please ensure you meet with your school principal to discuss release time and obtain the appropriate absence code to attend this conference. 

Teachers in charter, federal and private schools must be associate members of the Association to be eligible to attend the Beginning Teachers Conference.

A block of guest rooms have been reserved at the Fantasyland Hotel for conference delegates. Rooms must be booked prior to September 2. Please reference the ATA Beginning Teachers Conference or provide the group code# 5917866 when booking your accommodations.
avatar for Michelle Glavine

Michelle Glavine

The Alberta Teachers Association
Executive Staff Officer, Teacher Employment Services
Michelle joined the Association’s Teacher Employment Services (formerly Teacher Welfare) executive staff in 2019. Michelle holds a Labour Relations Certificate and an Advanced Labour Relations Certificate from Queen’s University, a MEd in Educational Leadership from the University of Calgary, a BEd from the University of Saskatchewan and a BA in Sociology with a concentration in criminology from the University of Calgary. Michelle was a teacher with Rocky View School Division for 21 years.

Michelle served 7 years as district representative for Calgary District and 12 years as local president in Rocky View. In addition to acting as a representative of the bargaining agent, Michelle is a staff officer in Teacher Employment Services in the Southern Alberta Regional Office (SARO) and acts as the staff advisor to the Middle Years Council.